Thank you to the honorable members and friends who have supported and contributed to CHEERS and its recipients for 5 years!


Cheers_WOW copy-page-001

2016 Honoree Dr. Doris Howell

Dr. Howell is best known for her contributions to palliative care. She was instrumental in founding San Diego Hospice, the first teaching hospice in the United States, and served on the Board of Directors since its inception in 1977, becoming Director Emerita in 1989. For her work in pediatric oncology and as a pioneer in hospice/palliative care, Dr. Howell has received numerous awards. The palliative care service at UCSD/Moores Cancer Center is officially named for Dr. Doris Howell. Upon her retirement, Dr. Howell became involved in the founding of the Doris A. Howell Foundation for Women’s Health Research, an organization that gives grants to students and established investigators for research in areas of women’s health and educates women to be advocates for their own and their family’s health care.

2015 Honoree Deborah Szekely

Deborah Szekely is a prominent Southern California-area activist, philanthropist, and writer from Brooklyn, New York. Hailed by the Huffington Post as the “Godmother of Wellness,”

Because of her amazing work supporting women’s health and wellness, we are proud to honor her with the National Cheers WOW Luncheon Award.





Help us make a Difference

Help us make a difference in the lives of women by making a donation in honor of the special woman in your life

All funds raised support organizations that help women improve their lives through care, health, education, empowerment, research and support.


We at the National Cheers Foundation gratefully welcome and acknowledge the following individuals who had aligned themselves with our mission. Together, our mission to contribute to women of all generations to live life with vitality, free from the 5 primary health threats, can be realized. Special thanks to those who have contributed.


  • Lisa and Raul Albanez
  • Christine and Craig Andrews
  • DeAnna and Larry Andrews
  • Applefield Hughes Insurance
  • Joanne and Kyle Bakken
  • Tracy Bennett
  • Claudette and William Berwin
  • Kathy and Steven Bettles
  • Nancy and Fred Borrelli
  • Nancy Boyd
  • Kathleen and Dirk Broekema
  • Lori and Steve Cairncross
  • Berneice and Dempsey Copeland
  • Patricia and Rocky Copley
  • Dawn Davidson
  • Linda and Rick Dicker
  • Karin Devine
  • Betty and Mike Dunn
  • Sharman and Eric Dye
  • Linda Edidin
  • Carolyn Farris
  • Barbara Ferris
  • Alison and Eric Figi
  • Gail Forbes
  • Kay and Ben Fortson
  • Miriam Freitas
  • Helen Froeb
  • Barbara Gerber
  • Elizabeth Guiler – Franklin
  • Jackie Helm
  • Victoria Graham Hillman
  • Leah and Pat Higgins
  • Gina and Rob Hixson
  • Nicole and Lindsay Holland
  • Elaine and Kelly Hooker
  • Kathy and Russell Ingledew
  • Dana Iverson
  • Robert Jackson
  • Claudia Johnson
  • Sue and Lyle Kalish
  • Terri and Richard Kelly
  • Louise Keogh and Robert Sarnoff
  • Kim and Torrey Lee
  • Dawn Maywood
  • Colleen McNally
  • Donna and Donald McGuire
  • Betty Barwise Page McLean
  • Shari Miller
  • Betsy and Greg Mitchell
  • Kathyrn Murphy
  • Pamela Noxso


  • Bonnie Mendenhall
  • Diana and Mike Hill
  • Elaine Robbs
  • Gaylynn Boone
  • Kim Plotkin
  • Louise Keogh
  • Onah Wiley
  • Tracy Bennett


The National Cheers Foundation (NCF) is proud to shares its Honor Page, where donors may make their contributions and donations in honor of a special woman in their life.

Cheers 2016 Women of Wonder Honorees:
Jeannie Ball honored by her daughter Kate Woods
Barbara Thompson honored by her daughter Tracy Bennett
Betty Page McLean honored by Tracy Bennett
Megan Heine honored by her mother Jacqueline Sinclair
Kimberly Lee honored by her mother in law Jacqueline Sinclair
Barb Stone honored by her friend Mary Pat Warner
Katie McKellips honored by Teresa Conolly
Doris Hughes honored by her daughter Dana Hughes Irwin
Deborah Szekely Honored by Mary and Tom Gegax

Cheers 2015 Women of Wonder Honorees:
Betty Barwise Page McLean graciously honored by Tracy Bennett